Purpose

Why are we here?  I ask myself this several times a day. I mean this both in the broader Kierkegaardian sense, and also specifically – what I am hoping to accomplish in Africa during these two months.  This question takes me back to my early 20’s, when I found myself on a plane bound for London, England.  I was on my way to Oxford University – not as a student – but in order to follow a US Naval Academy grad with whom I was romantically involved, who was there on a prestigious scholarship.  The midshipman’s colleague happened to be on the plane as well, a polished, handsome, articulate young man by the name of Reuben.  The former Brigade Commander of the USNA (“head boy,” as they say in Harry Potter), with one year at Oxford under his belt, Reuben turned to me and said – at once both loftily and reasonably –

“So Liz, what are your goals for Oxford?” 

I gulped.  I was to be spending two years there.  One would think this answer would be quickly and enthusiastically forthcoming.   Instead, I stammered,

“Well, I guess I want to make sure I find the right bus from Heathrow to Gloucester Green.  I think all the signs will be in English though?” 

Despite the fact that I had just been hired as a consultant by British Aerospace, and thus at least had a set of purported work goals (such as “don’t get fired”), I not only had no answer, but I panicked at my lack thereof. Honestly, I had no idea.  I was really only focused on getting there in one piece.   

Now (considerably) older, I do give international moves more thought.  Conor and I had a few goals in coming to Africa, some joint, some individual.  My primary individual goal was this:  “Hearing from God.”  Not because I’m super spiritual (because I am neither holy nor roller).  But because I had grown quite deaf.  In both ears.

Most of you folks reading this know that I believe firmly in God.  I believe He is real, and I believe He is personal.  At times in my life, I have felt that God is more real than anything around me.  (How I’ve loved those times!)  At other times however, like over the past two years, I have felt so distant from Him that at times I question whether my faith is just me being “duped.”  Christians would call the phase I’m in “the desert,” or “the valley.”  Like “though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death…” (lyrics you might recall from that rap song from the Michelle Pfeiffer movie, Dangerous Minds, with the gang bangers who finally get A’s and write poignant essays).

Africa, selfishly, was a means to go close to where God is working.  (Because don’t we all sort of think that God hangs out a lot in Africa, caring for all the “starving children”?)  To go close, and then to get to chat with Him.  Here’s what I wanted to ask Him:

“What am I supposed to be doing with my life, if I don’t want to be a partner at a law firm?”

“What is it that will make me feel fulfilled, professionally, and how the heck do I balance that with raising a toddler and being a good mom?”

“What do you do when you get closer to 40 than to 30, and you’re wearing more jeans and button downs, and less mini-dresses and leggings, and you go to brunch on the Lower East Side and feel so out of place that you want to cry and wonder if you’ve been permanently relegated to Murray Hill?”

“Why is the Bible the heaviest book in the world to pick up sometimes?”

“Why do so many New Yorkers that I meet think that Christians (on the whole) are less thoughtful, more close-minded, Sarah Palin supporters who can’t name a single periodical?”

Also, I wanted to have my heart changed.  I’m so weary of comparing myself in angst to the other mothers in my son’s music class.  (The former ballerina with the gargantuan diamonds and the permanently on-call car and driver.  The beautiful blonde wife of a hedge fund owner who wore only Hermės.)  I didn’t want to measure my success by how many all-nighters I had pulled that month, or how close I was getting to becoming a true “deal jockey.” 

And lastly (but admittedly far down the list), I wanted to, you know, help people.    

We’ve been here for almost two weeks now.  As far as I can tell, I have heard only two things from God.   I’m sure that God is speaking –through these Graceland preschoolers, through stunning creation, through Finn’s first soccer ball kicks (yeah!!!!).  But I’m very dense.  So only two things seem clear.   

Number One:  I heard God respond to a very selfish but earnest prayer, in which I laid out all of the things I was hoping for:  an amazing, challenging job with funny and interesting colleagues, but one with good hours so I can also see my family, a big house in Connecticut, with a fireplace and a huge yard where Emma could run, and the ability to develop a strong sense of “home” and “community.” 

God’s answer (I think, that is, I’m never 100% sure) was simply,

“I’m providing for you now.”

So… Right.  Ok.  Shoot.  He’s right.  Our lives are so amazing right now!  And He does ask us to pray for our “daily” bread.  So I felt a bit chagrined, but also a bit peaceful.  I’m “chilled” as the South Africans would say.  Those things may or may not come to pass, but we are definitely provided for today.

Number Two:  The second thing I’ve heard from God (again, I think), comes from a Jon Foreman song about God.  (He’s the super cute lead singer of Switchfoot – a band from my home town San Diego – and  he’s also a strong Christian.)  One line from one of his songs goes like this:

“Two things You’ve told me:  that You are strong, and that You love me.”

And that line has just struck me.  Over and over, since I’ve been there.   I really like the way that leaves me…feeling protected here.  I take that line to be from God as well.  Simply that – He is strong and loving.

Tomorrow morning Conor, Jillian and I will join a Thembalitsha care worker, walking through the slums in a community called Grabouw.  We are tasked with gathering data about community health, income, chronic or terminal diseases (which many/most have), and crime, for the municipality.  Ultimately, we hope this data will serve as a benchmark for future, increased funding for the community.

We’re packing sandwiches for the day now.  Our daily bread (and peanut butter).  Just enough for the day.  

I should also have said, I’m trying to listen, as well as hear, too.

Chat soon,

Liz

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Purpose

  1. kelly says:

    Liz- Have you discovered the band Tenth Avenue North yet???If not, get their cd “Over Underneath” right away! My favorite line from one of their songs,”So many questions without answers, Your promises remain. I can’t see You but I’ll take my chances to hear You call my name”. I think you would be moved by their music(by the way, went to highschool with Chad Butler from Switchfoot!).

    I must tell you, YOU single-handedly have changed my point of view on being a Christian. You have taught me that it is okay to question. Question God, question other Christians, question the way some christian organizations and groups view things, question other religions, question the bible…it is in these times that my faith grows deeper and more grounded and I REALLY hear God speak. I do not want to be labeled a “religious, conservative, Republican(or Democrat for that matter), or put in any other box. I just want to be a person who loves God, loves her family and country, sticks up for and upholds the poor and needy, is more globally-minded, is not proud, loves goodness and righteousness, makes wise financial decisions, isn’t afraid to take a risk but has prayed about it first, and can think for myself. So YOU may not be hearing God speak, yet this is what He has taught me through you! I love you and know God is going to bless you because you are seeking Him.

    • Liz Grennan says:

      Kel,

      I love that band, totally, I’m listening to “By Your Side” right now in fact. As far as being grounded in faith, I have you to thank for YOUR example throughout our incredible friendship over the years. (Coming up on 20 years soon!) You’ve been such a signpost for “how to live” for me along the way. How are you so very humble with all you have going for you?? I so strive to be like you as a wife and mother. Conor and I always talk about trying to have our best friends be those we so want to be like, so we can just sit near them and osmosisize. 🙂 That’s why we can’t wait for MacNeal/Grennan Family Vacation 2011 – will be sooooooo much fun!!!!

      Love you so, my faithful friend,
      Liz

  2. Julie says:

    Hey Liz,

    I feel what you’re going through — I have been there (and continue to be there) so many times in my life. What have I learned?

    1) We are where we are supposed to be. Well, crap, sometimes that’s in a yucky mental place. But then I try to think, ‘what am I supposed to learn from being in this yucky place?’ Kinda like what’s the moral of the story here. Sometimes I learn that I never want to be here again. Sometimes I learn patience. Sometimes I learn that I can’t judge a book by its cover. The one thing that happens is that I always learn something.

    2) I’ve learned that God is clear; he’s not opaque. So if I am still, breathe, and listen (perhaps meditate) and ask for his will, it generally comes. And if it doesn’t, then I am not ready to make the choice put in front of me, or I’m being arrogant and don’t like the answer I’m getting. This often happens around ‘should I really be dating this guy?’ or ‘this donut is healthy for me, right?’

    3) When comparing – which I do often, compare yourself to your younger self — the one that was not as wise. We only see peoples outsides, not their insides and we compare our insides to their outsides. And in the end, would you trade where you are right now for the Hermes clothes, the driver and car, blah blah blah. No, I know you wouldn’t.

    There’s a lot more — but I have to get back to work….I took myself off the fast track a long time ago, and I am ever so much better off. I have balance sometimes! Wheeee!

    Love ya,
    Julie

    • Liz Grennan says:

      Jules,

      I bet you are getting some great meditation in while you are diving in Life Fabulous. You are definitely living such a vibrant, full life. I would like to have more of your bravery.

      Thank you for your thoughts here, and for your friendship. That phrase “be still and know that I am God,” is one of the strongest things I can hold on to, I think. Thanks for the reminders!!

      Love,
      Liz

  3. hallie says:

    Liz, took me a while to get up the courage to respond and reflect. You have put to words and made public inner workings of many a moment of conflict, uncertaintly and self doubt. It was thrilling to read. Admittedly from a “former”, completely disillusioned Christian, but a true believer. I believe that my needs for safety, love, comfort and purpose are but small part of the bigger quest of all who inhabit this place we share. When pondering how I am doing and what am I doing (daily!) i try not to look back and compare to what was but rather focus on right now and find purpose in what is.

    This is one of my “notes to self” I keep in a small invisible book around my neck and close to my heart. As I watch my 84 yr. old mother stuggle with Parkinson’s and dementia (early stage) she uses up valuable “Lifetime” missing was used to be and constantly comparing her former self to the present self. Instead of thinking about and enjoying what she can do now, she dwells on what she used to be but has been “lost” and is no longer part of her evolving, newly emerging self.

    Note to self: Don’t worry so much about the passage of time and change that comes with it. It is just a marker that can distract and obscure your real life , and membership in today! Don’t fall prey to convention, tradition, and external expectation if it keeps you from passion and purpose.

    Try being (much) closer to 55 than 45, finding NGN, learning you are becoming a grandmother, going to bed and waking up every morning wracked with anxiety about the kids in Nepal, how we will mangage, yet driven by the thrill of knowing this is too important, too many lives at stake and too many really good people involved for things to just not work out —- from all this i find hope, safety, love comfort and purpose. Hey those were my needs from the beginning of this little mind wander.

    Well this I belive!

    All the best — Hallie (not Halle) :>)

    • Liz Grennan says:

      Hallie,

      Your note reminds me to spend much more time with you when we get back to the States. My pastor always used to say…spend time sitting near those you’d like to resemble, and someday you will. Can I sit near you soon?

      xo
      Liz

      • hallie says:

        There is an open seat next to me at all times! As you feel the need to be seated, I will feel the gift of your presence.

        see you soon!
        Hallie

  4. Dermot says:

    Once again Liz my heart swells with pride and I am not overly religous But I defintely DO believe. To deny the existence of God is in my humble opinion to somehow negate most aspects of our journey through life.
    Love you Lots Liz,
    Dermot x

Leave a comment